top of page

Summarise recognised learning theories and explain their relevance to a Forest Schools programme

Within the next section of my Level 3 Forest School Leader course I will be exploring a number of different learning theories and their relevance/importance to Forest School Programmes.

My first essay has asked me to summarise two of the following theories and later I will need to explore how these two theories apply to my own Forest School Setting. I want to make sure that I select two theories that will be really relevant to my Forest School so I have quickly researched them all so that I can make an informed choice. Some of these theories I am very familiar with and have written about before and some are more unknow.


  • We consider and address their physical, social, emotional and identity needs. (Maslow - Hierarchy of Needs)



  • It recognises and seeks to develop a positive regard of nature (Kellert - Nature Engagement)

  • Creates opportunities to be absorbed and focused on something of their choosing. (Flow State - Csikszentmihalyi)



  • Promotes learning through discovery (Bruner - Enquiry Based Learning)




  • Recognises learners as individuals (Gardner - Multiple Intelligences) Encourage a sense of community (Peck - Pseudo-communities)





  • Introduce and encourage new ideas in small, achievable tasks (Bruner/Vygotsky - Scaffolding)



  • Encourage shared learning (Vygotsky - Zone of Proximal Development)



  • Experience appropriate risk taking (Mortlock - Levels of Risk)



  • Recognise the importance of personal wellbeing (Leavers - Wellbeing)



  • Create a play space to explore the benefits of play (Hughes - Taxonomy of Play Types/Parten - Play Stages)





  • Review and reflection as important foundations for meaningful change (Greenaway - Reviewing)




603 views0 comments
Post: Blog2_Post

Subscribe Form

Thanks for submitting!

  • Facebook
  • Twitter
  • LinkedIn

©2020 by A journey to the forest. Proudly created with Wix.com

bottom of page