top of page

Reflective Journal-May

Updated: May 31, 2021

3rd-10th May

I have begun writing my essay about how holistic learning is facilitated in Forest Schools and am finding it so interesting. I am developing a better understanding of how the brain works and how people learn. It has shown me how science backs up and supports Holistic learning and that linking our body mind and spirit works as they are connected on both a chemical and physical level.


10th-18th May

I have completed my assignment on Holistic learning, and I found it so interesting. I took some of the ideas into school and had a wonderful time getting the children to generate ideas for a creative piece of writing based on the secret garden. We all went outside, and I gave each group of children a magic key. I asked them to go off and play and pretend they had found a key to a secret garden and the work that came from this was amazing. Through using all their senses and engaging with their hearts, minds and body they lived their own stories and then when asked to record on paper they used the most amazing language. It was such a joy to teach and watch and I really want to teach in this way as much as possible now.


25th-30th May

I have completed my assignment on self-esteem and emotional intelligence, and it was an interesting subject matter to explore. I feel I have a better understanding now of the importance of my role in promoting these two psychological constructs and how much of a difference I can make to the individuals who join my Forest school. The natural world will also aid me in this role and I feel very privileged to be able to make such a great impact on the individuals that I teach.

The process of writing this essay has also allowed me to analyse and think more clearly about my own emotional state and consider how important it is for me to model emotional intelligence and self-esteem. In the past I have used a counsellor to help me work through my own emotions and self-esteem and I feel that it will be good for me to pick this up again. Using a counsellor taught me that this process is just a way of looking after ourselves and it does not necessarily mean that we are unwell or emotionally weak but in fact it makes us emotionally stronger.As a Forest School leader and guide it is important that I can ensure that I am in a good emotional place to authentically listen and hear and help others.



5 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
Post: Blog2_Post

Subscribe Form

Thanks for submitting!

  • Facebook
  • Twitter
  • LinkedIn

©2020 by A journey to the forest. Proudly created with Wix.com

bottom of page