top of page

Reflective Journal-June 21

1st-15th June 2021

I have been doing this course for a year now and I can’t tell you enough how much I have enjoyed every step. I have learnt so much and accomplished more than I ever dreamed of. Looking back over my entries to this learning journal I notice how scared and worried I was about doing this course because I had dreamt of it for so long that I was scared I would fail. Step by step assignment by assignment I have grown and developed my understanding and nodded and shouted “yes” to so many things I have read and discovered. It feel now like the puzzle pieces are coming together and I can see the picture and how I am going to achieve my goal. It has been hard work and I have given so much time to this course, but it has become a passion and a love now. I am often asked how do you do it all? How do you fit it all in? The truth is that I am enjoying it and I have found my “flow”.


This time last year I was ill-I had just had covid which was horrendous I was having panic attacks which were so bad that my whole body would shake, and my mind would not stop racing. I had the support of my friends and family, the NHS and my councillor and they got me through.


As I recovered this course popped up on Facebook and I went for it. It gave me something to focus on and reignited my love for the outdoors and teaching. I have used so many things that I have learnt in my own work as a Primary School teacher and this year I have achieved so much-we have become an eco-school which is amazing, we have created some amazing artwork as a school some of which is on display to the public. The children are so enthused by the environmental and global citizenship work and have lifted us all in these difficult times.


I feel so grateful for all the work that the people at Archimedes Earth have done putting this course together and the support that they have given me. I would recommend it to anyone.


15th-22nd June

To move on with the course and complete it I have made plans to open my Forest School as an after-school club for 10 children. I need to complete my 6-week baseline assessments to finish so it has been full steam ahead for the past few weeks. I have put my handbook together written my policies and completed my website. Each policy has been good to write as it has drawn on everything that I have learnt and produced so far for this course. It has made me really think about my ethos, values, and mission and all of the health and safety bits I need to put in place.


I have enjoyed making my website and being creative, but I am so thankful to my friends who have read and reread what I have written and spotted all my mistakes and given me tips of wisdom.


My headteacher at the school I work has be so wonderful too and supported me with this venture. I know that allowing a Forest School to take place in the grounds is a risk, but she has shown me that she believes in me and trusts me which has really helped my confidence and ability to move this project forward. Next week I will be advertising the Forest School to the new Year 2 children and will be realising my baby out into the world. This is scary but I know I can do it. Fingers crossed there will be 10 children who sign up and will want to come on this journey with me.


I am also thankful to a wonderful colleague who has said that she would be happy to volunteer and help me with the Forest School sessions. I would not be able to do this without her and I am so excited to be sharing the next stage of this journey with such a talented, creative, and positive spirit. It is going to be so much fun. Lots to do but dreams are forming and taking shape.


22nd-29th June

My after-school club has been shared with the world and I have had so many positive comments and words of support. It is all extremely exciting. I have booked my Outdoor First Aid Course for the summer holidays and arranged my Public Liability Cover, I have set up a business email, bank account and have 10 children who would love to join me. I have also had people from other schools and organisations asking for me to work with them, which is amazing, but I have had to turn these down as I need to focus on Canopy Forest School at Chandler’s Ford Infants first. I will run it here for a year, complete my course and then will maybe do a Tuesday afterschool club somewhere else too.


This week I have also picked up again my assignment work and I have started writing Unit 3: 2:5 on Resilience, confidence, and creativity. This has been a perfect essay to get back into as I feel that I have so much to say considering my journey this year where all these psychological elements have come into play. I really know first-hand how much these are needed and ways of building and developing these life skills now. I also love the way that the course builds on theories and studies and stretches our knowledge one step more each time. Ok had better stop now and get on with this essay.




7 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
Post: Blog2_Post

Subscribe Form

Thanks for submitting!

  • Facebook
  • Twitter
  • LinkedIn

©2020 by A journey to the forest. Proudly created with Wix.com

bottom of page