top of page

Reflective Journal- August

30th-5th August

This week I have started planning and thinking about my first session. I am not going to plan beyond this as I want to use the children’s input and our observations each week as we progress. I have thought carefully about the progression of each session and when we will sit down together for snacks and a story etc. I have decided to go with the theme of connections as this is one of our key values and this will underpin all else that takes place. I have also put together a newsletter and this will be sent out at the beginning of each half term. Within the newsletter I have included ideas and activities that parents can do with their children at home which is seasonal. The first activity is making bramble jam and collecting wild blackberries together.


6th-13th Aug

I have been away on holiday this week, but I have taken reading with me and begun to think about my next assignment which is on play. I have been reading “I love My World” by Chris Holland and also “Sharing Nature with Children” by Joseph Cornell.


14th-21st Aug

While on holiday we went to some nature reserves, and I found some lovely activities that had been placed around for children to do in the woodland. I took lots of photos and I especially the loved the idea of having mirrors on a few tree stumps so that the eye is taken up into the canopy of the woodland. I have been thinking this week about resources and items that I can make for our Forest School when we get back and creating woodland creature benches to sit on is something else I would love to make. I also need to create a tippy tap for the Forest School area so hands can be constantly washed and cleaned. Next week I am due to do my Outdoor First Aid training. It feels like everything is slowly coming together. I find that my mind is constantly thinking about Forest School, but this has not got in the way of some important family time together.


22nd-29th Aug

This week I have completed and passed my Outdoor First Aid training which is super, and it was a great course. It was also wonderful to meet other local people doing their Forest School training all of them were working in local schools, so it is great to know others that I can make links and contacts with.




11 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
Post: Blog2_Post

Subscribe Form

Thanks for submitting!

  • Facebook
  • Twitter
  • LinkedIn

©2020 by A journey to the forest. Proudly created with Wix.com

bottom of page